festivals and conventions






New York, NY (October 31, 2016)—As the 2016 Long Island Music Hall of Fame (LIMHoF) Induction Ceremony draws near, the organization is ramping up with two additional inductees to this year’s roster: Grammy Award-winning record producer / composer / lyricist Jim Steinman, and the late producer / artist manager / professor / songwriter Sandy Pearlman.

Adding to the accolades, musician / songwriter / actor / producer Steven Van Zandt will receive the 2016 Harry Chapin Humanitarian Award for his Rock and Roll Forever Foundation and his dedication to music education. This bi-annual award, initiated in 2010, is designated to individuals or groups that have demonstrated commitment to humanitarian efforts on Long Island and beyond. His foundation was initiated as a direct result of arts programs being cut in schools nationwide due to funding. The middle school / high school curriculum it presents – Rock and Roll: An American Story – provides arts-driven materials designed to keep students engaged, and is available to educators at no cost. “It’s an honor to receive the Harry Chapin Award, “ states Van Zandt. “Though my work remains unfinished, I’m moved by even being considered to join the esteemed list of past honorees.”

These honorees will join the already prestigious class of 2016 inductees: music executive Charles Koppelman, guitarist / composer Steve Vai, singer / songwriter Garland Jeffreys, film composer Carter Burwell, hip-hop artist Big Daddy Kane, songwriters/instrumentalists Santo & Johnny, jazz specialist/bandleader Vince Giordano, and Westbury Music Fair (now the NYCB Theater at Westbury).

A few of this year’s presenters include Long Island Music Hall of Fame board member / inductee Ron Alexenburg (presenting Steven Van Zandt), Eddie Brigatiof The Rascals (for Santo & Johnny), Lenny Kaye (accepting for Sandy Pearlman), David Johannsen (for Garland Jeffreys), Brian Koppelman (for Charles Koppelman), and chef Tom Schaudel (for Steve Vai), and GE Smith (for Carter Burwell).

Further celebrating Long Island public and private music educators, the 2015 and 2016 Educator of Note Award is designated to respected individuals who exemplify dedication to music education. The LIMHoF proudly presents Joseph Rutkowski as the 2015 Educator of Note recipient. With four decades of experience, the current Head of the Music Department at Great Neck North High School helms a music program that boasts 12 Carnegie Hall performances, and is a 10-time winner of the Lincoln Center High School Chamber Music Competition.

The Educator of Note Award winner for 2016 is Frank Doyle, who not only toured and recorded as a keyboardist with Meatloaf, but is a music teacher at Northport High School. Editor for the Baron’s AP Music Theory Review Book 2012 and the Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy Online, Doyle developed a 4-year High School Music Conservatory Program, including AP Music Theory and two-year international Baccalaureate Program.

The 2016 Long Island Music Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 3 at The Space at Westbury, 250 Post Avenue in Westbury, New York. General seating tickets are now on sale, starting at $95 and are available through Ticketmaster online at http://thespaceatwestbury.com.  Premium VIP table seating and sponsorships are available, which includes an exclusive VIP Pre-Induction Awards Dinner Party, Performances, and Awards Ceremony. 

For information about Premium seating, please contact the Long Island Music Hall of Fame at 631-331-0909 or Jaime@jfaith.com.

The Long Island Music Hall of Fame (LIMHOF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to the idea that Long Island’s musical heritage is an important resource to be celebrated and preserved for future generations. The LIMHOF was created as a place to inspire in each person the desire to explore and celebrate music in all its forms and to be a place where the music community will find the support, resources and leadership necessary to aim them in that exploration. For more information about the Long Island Music Hall of Fame, visit www.limusichalloffame.org.

Additional Media Contacts:

Jill Nees-Russell – 631.418.6699 // jill@russellrelations.com

Rick Eberle for The Space at Westbury Theater 516-729-6872 // rick@rickeberle.com 

For more information including:

·       2016 Inductee information

·       Photos of past Galas

·       Video footage

Please contact: Joe Jankowski 516-938-1626 or email: jjankowski@limusichalloffame.org  

festivals and conventions

More in festivals and conventions

Long Beach’s Premiere Weekly Arts Festival Arts in The Plaza Returns

Rick EberleMay 10, 2018

Woodstock Revival Concert to Rock Old Bethpage Restoration Sunday, June 10th

Rick EberleApril 23, 2018

Second Knock-Out Round of the Sixth Annual “Your Big Break” Competition at Gold Coast Arts Center Saturday, March 10th

Rick EberleMarch 2, 2018

New York State Assemblyman Chuck Lavine In Association With Obamacare Expert Jason Samel To Host Affordable Care Act Education Seminar For Long Islanders on Wednesday, November 29th LIU Posts’s Tilles Center’s Hillwood Hall

Rick EberleNovember 14, 2017

MONDO NYC 2017 Global Business Summit and Music Festival October 4-8, 2017

Rick EberleOctober 2, 2017

Grammy Award Winning Reggae Artist Shaggy and “Love and Hip Hop: New York”s Tara Wallace to Host the 5th Annual Image Entertainment Distinction Awards at Kings Theatre, Saturday, September 30th

Rick EberleSeptember 5, 2017

Town of Oyster Bay Supervisor Joseph Saladino Announces Free Waterfront Festival at Theodore Roosevelt Memorial Park Sunday, September 10th

Rick EberleAugust 29, 2017

Long Island Bacon Bash To Be Held at Pennysaver Amphitheater at Bald Hill Saturday, September 23rd

Rick EberleAugust 29, 2017

Party 105.3FM Presents Mega Jam 2017 At Pennysaver Amphitheater at Bald Hill Sunday, September 3rd

Rick EberleAugust 24, 2017

Copyright © 2017 Rick Eberle.